How England Made the English

(Paperback)

How England Made the English
Tip en ven
75 kr
Gem i ny ønskeseddel
Du skal vælge en størrelse inden du kan lægge varen i varekurven.

Forventet leveringstid:  5-15 arbejdsdage

Sælges af Adlibris 3,5 / 5 med 2072 anmeldelser.

Resultat af kundebedømmelse 3,5 / 5
Leverancetid 3,3 / 5
Emballeringskvalitet 3,8 / 5
Mere fra Adlibris Adlibris er en samarbejdspartner på CDON Marketplace Bedømmelsen gives af kunder, som har handlet hos merchant Adlibris, og bedømmes ud fra leverancehastighed samt hvor godt varen er emballeret.

Harry Mount's How England Made the English: From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours is packed with astonishing facts and wonderful stories.

Q. Why are English train seats so narrow?

A. It's all the Romans' fault. The first Victorian trains were built to the same width as horse-drawn wagons; and they were designed to fit the ruts left in the roads by Roman chariots.

For readers of Paxman's The English, Bryson's Notes on a Small Island and Fox's Watching the English, this intriguing and witty book explains how our national characteristics - our sense of humour, our hobbies, our favourite foods and our behaviour with the opposite sex - are all defined by our nation's extraordinary geography, geology, climate and weather.

You will learn how we would be as freezing cold as Siberia without the Gulf Stream; why we drive on the left-hand side of the road; why the Midlands became the home of the British curry. It identifies the materials that make England, too: the faint pink Aberdeen granite of kerbstones; that precise English mix of air temperature, smell and light that hits you the moment you touch down at Heathrow.

Praise for Harry Mount:

'Highly readable, encyclopeadic, marvellous, illuminating. Mount portrays England via dextrous excavations of its geography, geology, history and weather' Independent

'Fascinating. Mount's an intelligent, funny and always interesting companion' Daily Mail

'Charming and nerdily fact-stuffed' Guardian

Harry Mount is the author of Amo, Amas, Amat and All That, his best-selling book on Latin, and A Lust for Window Sills - A Guide to British Buildings. A journalist for many newspapers and magazines, he has been a New York correspondent and a leader writer for the Daily Telegraph. He studied classics and history at Oxford, and architectural history at the Courtauld Institute. He lives in north London

Nedenstående information stammer fra CNET, CDON.COM kan ikke garantere for, at denne information er korrekt.
Forlag: Penguin Books Ltd Kategori: Kultur øvrigt
Forventet leveringstid: 5-15 arbejdsdage Indbindingstype: Paperback
ISBN: 9780670919147 Antal sider: 368
Sprog: Engelsk
Titel: How England Made the English Forfatter: Harry Mount
Releasedato: 2013-04-01 Edition:
Serie:
Nedenstående information stammer fra CNET, CDON.COM kan ikke garantere for, at denne information er korrekt.
Antal omtaler: 0 Gennemsnitlig vurdering: 0
0%
0%
0%
0%
0%

Forsikringsvilkår

  • Reparation eller erstatningsprodukt med tilsvarende ydelse.
  • Erstatning ved skader forårsaget af en pludselig og uforudset udefrakommende hændelse, som f.eks. trykskade, knusningsskade, fugt/vand, lyn/torden/overspænding.
  • Erstatning ved funktionsfejl, der ikke dækkes af garantien eller reklamationsretten.
  • For mobiltelefoner er selvrisikoen 395 kr. ved en skade. For øvrige produkter gælder forsikringen uden selvrisiko.

Læs de komplette forsikringsvilkår

Information om – CDON produktforsikring

}

Tip en ven

Delbetaling

Dette produkt kan delbetales som følger:

  • 117 kr /måned - 6 måned, 0% rente (395 kr oprettelsegebyr, 39 kr gebyr girokort)
  • 87 kr /måned - 12 måned, 0% rente (495 kr oprettelsegebyr, 39 kr gebyr girokort)
  • 56 kr /måned - 36 måned, 14.95% rente (495 kr oprettelsegebyr, 39 kr gebyr girokort)

Omkostningsberegningen inkluderer ikke opsætnings- og administrationsgebyr.

Vælg Delbetaling som betalingsmåde i kassen.

Mere information »